Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ABIGAIL REYNOLDS & ARYE WACHSMUTH

What Bird has done yesterday...

Opening: 28 May 2016, 4pm
Exhibition: 29 May - 9 July 2016

ABIGAIL REYNOLDS & ARYE WACHSMUTH
"What Bird Has Done Yesterday…"


“What bird has done yesterday man may do next year” is the complete phrase from James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake quoted in the title of the exhibition. Media theorist Marshall McLuhan wrote of the sentence: “‘Mechanization’ is a translation of nature, and of our own natures, into amplified and specialized forms. Thus the quip in Finnegans Wake, ‘What bird has done yesterday man may do next year,’ is a strictly literal observation of the courses of technology.”

Abigail Reynolds and Arye Wachsmuth position their works in dialogue with one another in the current exhibition at Galerie Raum mit Licht. Political and social structures and their mediation play a central role in the approaches of both artists. The contexts of past history and historical material relate to current events, such as the movement of refugees and contemporary socio-political issues.

ABIGAIL REYNOLDS makes her photo collages and sculptures using historic photo-graphs from books, magazines and newspapers. In her work, concepts of time and the politics of representation play a key role. The various textures of her works, the layers and folds promise a way into the past while denying it in the same breath.
Abigail Reynolds often uses architecture to explore the representation of power and control as well as issues of identity. In ‘Begin Afresh’ a protestor is seemingly placed inside the Glass House by Philip Johnson, bringing her physical gesture into an alignment with the modernist project. For the lithograph ‘Untitled Breuer’, Abigail Reynolds draws on the UNESCO building in Paris built by Marcel Breuer, and transforms it by folding the paper and producing the image in a double-printing process, splintering the space. The “world order” represented in the Assembly Hall is broken open in formal terms — an allusion to the human conflict between a desire for global order, and chaos.

ARYE WACHSMUTH engages in his work with the subjects of technology, history and their perception, which he realises as multi-layered images and installations. He produces images of knowledge, memory and the mind that deconstruct mediatised “collective history”, and symbolise the cycle between reality, constructions of reality and memory.
In his new work ‘Niemandsland’ (No Man’s Land), Arye Wachsmuth brings together photographs taken in European border areas as well as pictorial aphorisms and a film still, to engage us with European refugee and asylum policy. The title alludes to the epony-mous 1931 German anti-war film by Victor Trivas, released in English as Hell on Earth, which was banned by the Nazis. These parallel lines of interpretation are juxtaposed with a quoted image: A reworking of Gustav Doré’s engraving The Destruction of Leviathan (1865) shows only waves breaking over one another. In a play on Thomas Hobbes’ 1651 political treatise, Arye Wachsmuth engages with the symbolically loaded interplay be-tween power, our obsession with evil, and fear.

The exhibition critically reflects issues of technology and social structure via transforma-tive processes — be it, as in Arye Wachsmuth’s work, through pictorial media that chal-lenge the relationship between image and symbol, or through fragmentation and defor-mation, as in the works by Abigail Reynolds.

Text: Brigitte Marchel (2016)
Translation: Jonathan Quinn

The Artists:

Abigail Reynolds (*1975) lives in London and St Just, Cornwall. She studied English Literature at Oxford University before turning to Fine Art. Reynold's works are repre-sented in Austrian and international collections. She was recently awarded the Third BMW Art Journey Prize. Numerous solo shows, most recently: Rokeby Gallery, London (2015); Rambert, South Bank London (2014); Galerie Raum mit Licht (2013); Ambach & Rice, Los Angeles (2012); Seventeen Gallery, London (2011).

Arye Wachsmuth (*1962) lives and works in Vienna. He studied Visual Media Design at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna and at the Fotoschule Hamburg. His works have been shown in numerous international exhibitions and film series: Hotel Metropole. Der Erinnerung eine Zukunft geben, Into the City-Wiener Festwochen (2015); MWW-Muzeum Współczesne Wrocław, Poland (2015), Remont Galerija, Belgrade (2014); Kunsthaus Dresden (2013); MAK-Österreichisches Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna (2008); Wyspa Institute of Art, Danzig, Poland (2007).

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ABIGAIL REYNOLDS & ARYE WACHSMUTH

WHAT THE BIRD HAS DONE YESTERDAY...

Vernissage: Samstag, 28. Mai 2016, ab 16.00
Ausstellungsdauer: 29. Mai - 9. Juli 2016

ABIGAIL REYNOLDS & ARYE WACHSMUTH
„What Bird has done yesterday…“

„What bird has done yesterday man may do next year“ lautet das vollständige Zitat nach James Joyce dem der Ausstellungstitel entnommen ist. Hierzu schrieb der Medientheoretiker Marshall McLuhan: „Was wir ‚Mechanisierung’ nennen, ist eine Übertragung der Natur und unseres eigenen Wesens in verstärkte und spezialisierte Formen. So ist der geistreiche Satz aus Finnegans Wake ‚Was der Vogel gestern getan hat, wird der Mensch vielleicht nächstes Jahr tun’, eine ganz wörtlich zu nehmende Bemerkung zum technischen Fortschritt.“

Abigail Reynolds und Arye Wachsmuth setzten in der aktuellen Ausstellung in der Galerie Raum mit Licht ihre Arbeiten in Dialog zueinander. Politische und soziale Strukturen und deren Vermittlung spielen eine zentrale Rolle in der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung beider Künstler. In unterschiedlicher Weise stehen Kontexte der vergangenen Geschichte und historische Materialien in Bezug zu aktuellen Ereignissen, wie der Refugee Bewegung, und gesellschaftspolitischen Fragen der Gegenwart.

ABIGAIL REYNOLDS arbeitet in ihren Fotocollagen und Skulpturen mit historischen Aufnahmen aus Büchern, Magazinen oder Zeitungen. In ihrem Werk spielen Konzepte von Zeit und Repräsentation eine wichtige Rolle. Die unterschiedlichen Texturen ihrer Arbeiten, die Lagen und Falten verheißen einen Zugang zur Vergangenheit und verweigern ihn im selben Atemzug.
Oft erkundet Abigail Reynolds anhand von Architektur die Repräsentation von Macht und Kontrolle sowie Fragen nach Identität. ‘Begin Afresh’ zeigt die Fotografie einer Demonstrantin und eine Abbildung des Glashauses von Philip Johnson (1949). Die physische Geste geht formal in die Architektur über und lässt die Protagonistin im transparenten Raum erscheinen. Für die Lithographie ‘Untitled Breuer’ greift Abigail Reynolds auf eine Innenansicht des von Marcel Breuer gebauten UNESCO Gebäudes in Paris zurück und transformiert diese, durch Falten des Papiers und in einem zweifachen Druckverfahren ausgeführt, in einzelne Spalten aufgesplittert. Die im Sitzungsaal repräsentierte „Weltordnung“ wird formal aufgebrochen – ein Verweis auf den Konflikt des Menschen zwischen dem Wunsch nach globaler Ordnung und Chaos.

ARYE WACHSMUTH setzt sich in seinen künstlerischen Untersuchungen mit den Themen Technologie, Geschichte und deren Wahrnehmung auseinander, die er in mehrschichtige Bilder und Rauminstallationen umsetzt. Es geht ihm um die Herstellung von Wissens-, Erinnerungs-, und Denkbildern, die eine mediatisierte „kollektive Historie“ zu dekonstruieren versuchen, und als Sinnbild für den Kreislauf zwischen Wirklichkeit, Wirklichkeitskonstruktionen und Gedächtnis stehen.
In seiner neuen Arbeit ‘Niemandsland’ beschäftigt sich Arye Wachsmuth mit der europäischen Flüchtlingspolitik anhand von Fotografien, entstanden an europäischen Grenzgebieten, sowie Bildaphorismen und einem Filmstill. Der Titel ‘Niemandsland’ bezieht sich auf den gleichnamigen Antikriegsfilm von Victor Trivas aus dem Jahr 1931, der von den Nazis verboten wurde. Diesen parallelen Interpretationssträngen ist ein Bildzitat gegenübergestellt: Eine Überarbeitung von Gustav Dorés Kupferstich Die Vernichtung des Leviathan (1865) zeigt bloß übereinander brechende Wellen. In Anspielung auf Thomas Hobbes’ politisches Traktat von 1651 thematisiert Arye Wachsmuth den Zusammenhang symbolisch aufbereiteter Geflechte von Macht, Dämonomanie und Angst.

In der Ausstellung werden kritische Momente zur Technologie und Fragen zur Sozialstruktur mittels Transformationsprozessen aufgeworfen – sei es, wie bei Arye Wachsmuth, durch die Übersetzung zwischen verschiedenen Bildmedien, die das Verhältnis von Bild und Zeichen befragen, oder durch Fragmentierung und Deformierung wie in Abigail Reynolds Arbeiten.

Text: Brigitte Marchel (2016)

Künstler:

Abigail Reynolds (*1975) lebt in London und St Just, Cornwell. Sie studierte Englische Literatur an der Oxford University bevor sie sich der Bildenden Kunst zuwandte. Reynolds’ Arbeiten sind in nationalen und internationalen Sammlungen vertreten. Sie wurde eben mit dem „Third BMW Art Journey Prize“ ausgezeichnet. Sie hatte international zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen, zuletzt: Rokeby Gallery, London (2015); Rambert, South Bank London (2014); Galerie Raum mit Licht (2013); Ambach & Rice, Los Angeles (2012); Seventeen Gallery, London (2011).

Arye Wachsmuth (*1962) lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Er studierte visuelle Mediengestaltung an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien und an der Fotoschule Hamburg. Seine Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen und Filmreihen gezeigt: Hotel Metropole. Der Erinnerung eine Zukunft geben, Into the City-Wiener Festwochen (2015); MWW-Muzeum Współczesne Wrocław, Polen (2015); Remont Galerija, Beograd (2014); Kunsthaus Dresden (2013); MAK-Österreichisches Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien (2008); Wyspa Institute of Art, Danzig, Polen (2007).