Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ANDREA VAN DER STRAETEN

»NO MANNERS«

Opening: Wednesday, 15 February 2017, 7–9pm
Exhibition: 16 February – 25 March 2017

Andrea van der Straeten chooses and implements a respective style for her works from a broad sectrum of cematic, photgraphic, installation-based, graphic, auditive and performative techniques. In doing so she analyses the respective media as well as processes and functional contexts within the art itself.

In many of her works she combines her interest in language and literature with a visual surprising vocabulary and an experimental technical approach: when she underlines the aggressive power of assaulting language in a series of laser cuts on paper by combining aesthetically striking colors and materials with the cut out of letters that remind of bullet holes, or when she uses semitransparent dry waxed pizza paper for drawings and texts to form poetic samples.
She repeatedly pursues her concept for a work by refering to a story, which becomes manifest at particular points in history. The referential space here is defined as a broad spectrum that includes women’s and gender issues, biographical moments and political events as well as local and literary sources, and extends to the history of art and institutions. This referencing and artistic re-working of reference material takes the form of deconstructing history as a fixed narrative form. The artist proves to employ a particular precision in her choice of subject matter in this field and be sensitive to connections and contexts.

ANDREA VAN DER STRAETEN (*1953 in Trier, DE) completed her studies in German Literature and Political Sciences in Marburg near Frankfurt as well as studies in Visual Communication at the University of Fine Arts Hamburg. She lives and works in Vienna, Austria since a postgraduate year in the masterclass of Maria Lassnig at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Since 2002 she is a professor and head of the department for Experimental Art at the University of Art and Industrial Design in Linz.
Her work is held in various private and public collections in Europe.

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ANDREA VAN DER STRAETEN

»NO MANNERS«

Vernissage: Mittwoch, 15. Februar 2017, 19–21 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 16. Februar – 25. März 2017

Andrea van der Straeten wählt aus einem breiten Spektrum filmischer, fotografischer, installativer, zeichnerischer, auditiver oder performativer Techniken die jeweilige Form der Umsetzung für ihre Arbeiten. Dabei analysiert sie die jeweiligen Medien ebenso wie Prozesse, Abläufe und Funktionszusammenhänge in der Kunst an sich.

In vielen ihrer künstlerischen Arbeiten kombiniert sie ihr Interesse an Sprache und Literatur mit einem technisch experimentellen und visuell oft überraschenden Vokabular: wenn die aggressive Kraft einer verletzenden Sprache in einer Serie von Laserschnitten aus Papier verdeutlicht wird durch die Kombination von ästhetisch eindrucksvollen Farben und an Schusslöcher erinnernden cut-outs bestimmter Buchstaben, oder wenn sie halbtransparentes, gewachsten Pizzapapier benutzt um darauf Zeichnungen und Texte zu poetischen Geweben zu überlagern.
Wiederholt wählt sie für die Konzeption ihrer Arbeiten eine Geschichte, die an ganz bestimmten Punkten der Geschichte manifest wird. Dieser Referenzraum definiert sich dabei in einer Breite, die von Themen der Frauen- und Geschlechtergeschichte, über biografische Momente und politische Ereignisse, literarische Quellen bis zur Kunst- und Institutionsgeschichte reichen kann. Dabei geht es ihr auch um eine Dekonstruktion der Geschichte als festgeschriebene Erzählform. Hier beweist die Künstlerin ihre Präzision in der Auswahl der Themen und große Sensibilität für Zusammenhänge und Kontexte.

ANDREA VAN DER STRAETEN (*1953 in Trier, DE) schloss Studien der Germanistik und Politikwissenschaften in Marburg bei Frankfurt ab, sowie der Visuellen Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg. Sie lebt seit einem Stipendium für ein postgraduales Jahr an der Universität für angewandte Kunst 1987 als bildende Künstlerin in Wien und leitet seit 2002 als Professorin die Experimentelle Gestaltung an der Kunstuniversität Linz.
Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten finden sich in öffentlichen und privaten europäischen Sammlungen.