Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

curated by_vienna 2017 | curated by Sabine Folie

»TYPE, PLEASE«

Opening: Thursday 14. September 2017, 18 – 21
Exhibition: 15. September – 14. October 2017

VIENNA CONTEMPORARY 2017 (BOOTH A02)


with works by Jonas Feferle, Aglaia Konrad, Ernst Kostlitsch, Claudia Larcher and Roman Pfeffer



Preview and Vernissage: Wednesday, 20.09.2017 (with invitation only)

Thursday, 21.09.2017, 11am - 7pm
Friday, 22.09.2017, 11am - 7pm

Saturday and Sunday, 23. - 24.09.2017, 11am - 6pm



Marx Halle Vienna

Karl-Farkas-Gasse 19

1030 Wien
 The exhibition takes place in the context of curated by_vienna: “image/reads/text. Language in Contemporary Art”. In 2017, 21 Vienna galleries are involved in the project. In cooperation with international curators, the galleries conceptualise exhibitions opening up various perspectives on the topic. curated by_vienna is funded and organised by the Vienna Business Agency with its creative center departure with the objective of emphasising Vienna’s significance as a gallery location.
curatedby.at


Irma Blank
(*1934)
Melanie Ender (*1984)
Isabella Kohlhuber (*1982)
Doris Piwonka (*1968)
Salome Schmuki (*1979)
Dominik Steiger (1940-2014)
Andrea van der Straeten (*1953)

The title of Type, please (2016) is borrowed from Salome Schmuki: writing down letters, typing, talking. Mistyping, pausing, going back, back to the word stem, starting again, getting closer; then surprisingly: a new word, a new meaning. A known word? A buried, hermetic etymology or a neologism. Plays on words.

Inventing letters and generating words from them. New characters, letters and alphabets form new semantics. Encrypted, encoded, still to be cracked. Wavy lines that look like handwriting but evade any readability. Pronouncing words, phonemes support notations of the visualised text. Following what is said in an adven-turous dramaturgy of letters, movements. Mapping speech acts – the performative interaction of the written, the voice and the body. Drawing lines, loops in space, and forming them sculpturally; or transposing the act of writing into the gesture of drawing and painting. Putting modulations of Sprechgesang (speech song) into the syntax of a pictural form. Speaking voicelessly without hearing, leaving the meaning of characters to signals and gestures . . .

In the presentation of Type, please, these experiments pursue the connection between the prosthetic, perhaps already outdated, nostalgic liaison between the hand and the writing instrument or the keyboard, and the generation of lines, letters and alphabets that abstractly, pictorially and associatively create poetic excess. The exhibition follows the branching turns and paths, the deviations and errors in transmission and translation processes that arise from non- (or not yet) commonplace signs.


Since the 1960s, Irma Blank (* 1934) has been concerned with writing as a process and an activity, freed from the meaning-production of characters by the use of variations of lines and colours. Melanie Ender’s (* 1984) approach to language takes place through the incorporation of sculptural and performative elements. It explores connections between language, text, body and space. Abstract elements of speech acts become concrete in performances and sculptures. Isabella Kohlhuber’s (* 1982) installations, pictures, sculptures and animations are explorations of visual and auditory forms of language and communication. Strange typographies, alphabets and diagrams are eloquent testimony to the materiality and performance of language, its syncretistic multiva-lence in acts of shifting and montage. Doris Piwonka’s (*1968) images which operate exclusively in the medium of painting and push its boundaries, are occasionally based on script and graphic notations that are deliberately eclectically overlayered with other compositional elements and methods. Salome Schmuki (* 1979) investigates the structure and organisation of language, its coding, and the interplay of the perception mechanisms involved in it. She creates typographic designs based on the various different aspects of the reading process. In the early 1970s the poet Dominik Steiger (1940-2014) decided to become a visual artist. In his artistic production, his works remain indebted to the written character and plays on words. In many of her multimedia works Andrea van der Straeten (* 1953) combines her interest in language and literature with technical experiments and a visual vocabulary. In her video installation, among other things she addresses the fact that translation from one language into another is more a process of approximation than of an unambiguous transcription.

Sabine Folie is an art historian, freelance curator and author. From 1998 to 2008 she was Head Curator of the Kunsthalle Wien, from 2008 to 2014 Director of the Generali Foundation, Vienna. Numerous exhibitions, including Marcel Broodthaers: Politque Poetique (2003) and: Un Coup de Dés. Writing Turned Image. An Alphabet of Pensive Language (2008).

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

curated by_vienna 2017 | curated by Sabine Folie

»TYPE, PLEASE«

Vernissage: 14. September 2017, 18 – 21 Uhr in allen teilnehmenden Gallerien
Ausstellungsdauer: 15. September – 21. Oktober 2017

Die Ausstellung findet im Rahmen von curated by_vienna: „image/reads/text. Sprache in der zeitgenössischen Kunst“ statt. 2017 sind 21 Wiener Galerien am Projekt beteiligt. In Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren konzipieren sie Ausstellungen, die unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf das Thema eröffnen. curated by_vienna wird von der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien mit ihrem Kreativzentrum departure gefördert und organisiert, um die Bedeutung Wiens als Galerienstandort zu unterstreichen.
curatedby.at
Irma Blank (*1934)
Melanie Ender (*1984)
Isabella Kohlhuber (*1982)
Doris Piwonka (*1968)
Salome Schmuki (*1979)
Dominik Steiger (1940-2014)
Andrea van der Straeten (*1953)

Der Titel Type, please (2017) ist eine Arbeit von Salome Schmuki entlehnt: Buchstaben schreiben, tippen, sprechen. Sich vertippen, anhalten, zurück, bis zum Wortstamm, neu anfangen, sich annähern, dann überraschend: ein neues Wort, eine neue Bedeutung. Ein bekanntes Wort? Eine verschüttete, hermetische Etymologie oder ein Neologismus. Wortspiele.

Buchstaben erfinden und daraus Wörter generieren. Neue Zeichen, Buchstaben, Alphabete bilden neue Semantiken. Verschlüsselt, codiert, erst zu knacken. Wellenlinien, die wie Geschriebenes aussehen, aber sich jeder Lesbarkeit entziehen. Wörter aussprechen, Phoneme sekundieren Notationen von visualisiertem Text. Dem Gesprochenen in einer abenteuerlichen Dramaturgie der Buchstaben, Bewegungen folgen. Sprechakte – das performative Zusammenwirken von Geschriebenem, der Stimme und dem Körper – kartieren. Linien, Schleifen im Raum ziehen und skulptural formieren oder den Akt des Schreibens in die Geste des Zeichnens und Malens überführen. Modulationen des Sprechgesangs in die Syntax einer Bildform bringen. Stimmlos ohne Gehör sprechen, die Bedeutung der Zeichen den Gebärden und Gesten überlassen...

Diese Versuchsanordnungen gehen in der Präsentation von Type, please der Verbindung der prothetischen, vielleicht schon überholten, nostalgischen Liaison der Hand mit dem Schreibgerät oder der Tastatur nach und der Generierung von Linien, Buchstaben und Alphabeten, die abstrakt, bildhaft und assoziationsreich einen poetischen Überschuss erzeugen. Die Ausstellung folgt den verzweigten Windungen und Pfaden, den Abweichungen und Irrungen von Übertragungs- und Übersetzungsprozessen, die von (noch) nicht gängigen Zeichen ausgehen.

Irma Blank (*1934) beschäftigt sich seit den 1960-Jahren mit dem Schreiben als Vorgang und Tätigkeit, befreit von der Bedeutungsproduktion von Schriftzeichen durch den Einsatz von Variationen von Linien und Farben. Melanie Enders (*1984) Zugang zur Sprache verläuft über den Miteinbezug von Skulpturalem und Performativem. Sie untersucht Verbindungen zwischen Sprache, Text, Körper und Raum. Abstrakte Elemente der Sprechakte werden in Performances und Skulpturen konkret. Isabella Kohlhubers (*1982) Installationen, Bilder, Skulpturen und Animationen sind Erkundungen visueller und auditiver Formen von Sprache und Kommunikation. Fremdartige Typographien, Alphabete und Diagramme geben beredtes Zeugnis von der Materialität und Performanz der Sprache, ihrer synkretistische Multivalenz in Akten der Verschiebung und Montage.  Doris Piwonkas (*1968) Bildfindungen, die sich ausschließlich im Medium der Malerei und dem Austesten ihrer Möglichkeiten bewegen, liegen mitunter skripturale und grafische Notationen zugrunde, die von anderen kompositorischen Elementen und Verfahren bewusst eklektisch überlagert werden. Salome Schmuki (*1979) untersucht die Struktur und Organisation von Sprache, ihre Kodierung sowie das Zusammenspiel der daran beteiligten Mechanismen der Wahrnehmung. Basierend auf den verschiedenen Aspekten des Lesevorgangs gestaltet sie typografische Designs. Der Dichter Dominik Steiger (1940-2014) entschied sich in den frühen 1970er-Jahren bildender Künstler zu werden. Seine Arbeiten bleiben auch in seiner künstlerischen Produktion dem schriftlichen Zeichen und dem Wortspiel verpflichtet. In vielen ihrer Werke kombiniert Andrea van der Straeten (*1953) ihr Interesse an Sprache und Literatur mit dem technischen Experiment und einem visuellen Vokabular. Sie thematisiert unter anderem die Übersetzungsschwierigkeiten von sprachlichen in gestische Ausdrucksformen.

Sabine Folie ist Kunsthistorikerin, freie Kuratorin, Autorin. Von 1998-2008 war sie Chefkuratorin der Kunsthalle Wien, von 2008-2014 Direktorin der Generali Foundation, Wien. Zahlreiche Ausstellungen, darunter Marcel Broodthaers. Politque Poetique (2003) und Un Coup de Dés. Bild gewordene Schrift. ABC einer nachdenklichen Sprache (2008).