Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ELISABETH WILDLING

»ENDLESS DIALOGUE«

Opening: Wednesday 16 March 2011, 19:00
Exhibition: 17 March - 13 May 2011

A Mode for Perception / Visions of Space and Time
 
Elisabeth Wildling’s works deal with the experience of discontinuity in spatial and temporal perceptions. They speak about the relationship of individuals with their environment as well as question mechanisms behind constructions of identity and authenticity.

Her work is characterized by a conceptual approach. The spectrum of the artist’s work includes video and digital media installations, photographic and paper works. Her interest is dedicated to the human perception of various constellations of objects and space, as well as to their mental representations, transmitted and manipulated by the use of media. Artistic-spatial orchestrations that irritate or disrupt visual spatial orientation as well as the perception of time constitute the focus of her work.
 
The exhibition »Endless Dialogue« shows partially interactive media installations, at times even integrating the visitor into works like endless (Vienna, 2011), HamletHamlet (Vienna, 2007/2011) and Anne Frank (Amsterdam, 2008/2011) that will be implemented anew for the exhibition at the Galerie Raum mit Licht. What these works share is an experience of perception between progressive irritation and unexpected stimulation, the result of which is a coordinated orchestration of sensations.

In the video installation endless for example, the viewer is caught in an irresolvable optical contradiction through the simultaneously approaching and receding spatial elements. Through the movements and the parametrical changes in the “device”, which causes a disturbance in the perspective, the space becomes an active structure. Using a double projection, an entire pictorial space is created in which elements within the space enter into a play of perceptions. An irresolvable contradiction emerges from the difference between the both perceived images. During the process of perception, the differences between the single images come into dialogue with each other.

The feeling of an underlying threat, as well as emotions of fear and grief are evoked through multiple projections and decaying wallpaper in the piece Anne Frank: Leeft en Werkt. Digitally manipulated, the patterns are composed of layers of nostalgic motifs. In extreme slow-motion, only discernible as a subtle and relentless process, layer after layer is peeled back until all that remains are naked walls. The projection space becomes a metaphor for the empty space of memory to which the performers of the play go at the end of the performance.

HamletHamlet, a contribution to a play, also features projected graphic animations on the stage-set thereby creating a parallel world. With its own visual dramaturgical sequence, moving structures develop from a filmic flatness becoming a multi-dimensional space of light through the projections on the constructions in the space. Hamlet, weakened by the poison of hebenon, gradually dissipates during the course of the play expanding and overtaking the space with stroboscopic-like projections.

Katerina Cerny

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ELISABETH WILDLING

»ENDLESS DIALOGUE«

Eröffnung: Mittwoch 16. März 2011, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 17. März - 13. Mai 2011

Der Blick braucht ein Medium / Visionen von Raum und Zeit
 
Elisabeth Wildling thematisiert in ihren Arbeiten die Erfahrung der Diskontinuität von räumlicher und zeitlicher Wahrnehmung. Sie sprechen von dem Verhältnis des Individuums zu seiner Umgebung und hinterfragen Mechanismen der Konstruktion von Identität und Authentizität. Ihr Werk zeichnet sich durch einen konzeptuellen Zugang aus. Ihr künstlerisches Spektrum umfasst Videoinstallationen, digitale Medieninstallationen, Foto-und Papierarbeiten. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt der menschlichen Wahrnehmung von Objekten und Raumkonstellationen und deren mentale Repräsentation, mediale Vermittlung und Manipulation. Künstlerisch-räumliche Inszenierungen, welche die visuelle Raumorientierung und Zeitwahrnehmung irritieren oder außer Kraft setzten, bilden einen besonderen Schwerpunkt.
 
Die Ausstellung Endless Dialogue zeigt teils interaktive, die BetrachterInnen miteinbeziehende Medieninstallationen wie endless (Wien, 2011), HamletHamlet (Wien, 2007) und Anne Frank (Amsterdam, 2008), die für diese Ausstellung neu inszeniert wurden. Gemeinsam ist ihnen eine Wahrnehmungserfahrung zwischen progressiver Irritation und unerwarteter Stimulation, die das Ergebnis einer koordinierten Orchestrierung von Sinneseindrücken ist.


In der Videoinstallation endless etwa gerät der Zuschauer durch ein gleichzeitiges sich Annähern und Zurückweichen der Raumelemente in einen unauflöslichen, optischen Widerspruch. Durch die Bewegungen und die parametrischen Änderungen "des Apparates", der eine perspektivische Störung bewirkt, wird der Raum zur handelnden Struktur. Mittels einer Doppelprojektion entsteht ein Gesamtbildraum, in dem die Raumelemente in ein Wahrnehmungsspiel treten. Es entsteht ein unauflöslicher Widerspruch in der Differenz der beiden wahrgenommenen Bilder. Während des Wahrnehmungsprozesses treten die Differenzen zwischen den beiden Einzelbildern in einen Dialog.

Das Gefühl unterschwelliger Bedrohung, sowie Emotionen von Angst und Trauer werden im Fall der Mehrfachprojektion für das Stück Anne Frank: Leeft en Werkt durch eine verfallende gemusterte Tapete hervorgerufen. Digital manipuliert überlagern sich Muster aus nostalgischen Motiven. In einer stark verlangsamten zeitlichen Skalierung, nur als schleichender und unaufhaltsamer Prozess wahrnehmbar, wird Schicht um Schicht freigelegt bis schließlich außer den kahlen nackten Wänden nichts übrig bleibt. Der Projektionsraum wird zu einer Metapher für einen leeren Erinnerungsraum, in welchen sich die Darsteller des Stücks am Ende der Vorstellung begeben.

Im Fall ihres Beitrages für das Stück HamletHamlet sind es ebenfalls in einen Bühnenraum projizierte grafische Animationen, die eine Parallelwelt bilden. In einer eigenen visuellen dramaturgischen Abfolge erschließen die bewegten Strukturen einen von filmisch-flächigen bis zu einem auf die Raumkonstruktion projizierten mehrdimensionalen Lichtraum. Der durch das Gift des Bilsenkrauts geschwächte Hamlet löst sich im Verlauf des Stücks in den raumgreifenden und stroboskopartigen Projektionen allmählich auf.

Katerina Cerny