Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ERNST KOSLITSCH

»UNDER CONSTRUCTION«

Opening: Wednesday 9 September 2009, 19:00
Exhibition: 10 September - 29 October 2009



Imagined Spaces

Ernst Koslitsch’s models invite a look into to secret worlds, into intimate spaces. The models instigate a reflection on perception and form associations on several levels, on plateaus corresponding to the multi-layeredness of the perception of space. Firstly, the poetics of the models, in the housing, furniture, apartments, and in the public surroundings of dwelling places are brought to light. A second poetic level is that of the photographic image, which is more than a representation of the model yielding its own reality of a modeled and an imagined space.

The models of the living quarters show conditio humana: things that account for the human condition. Not only the objects of dwelling, of living and of play, but also the house and the apartment itself are things. We dwell in such things, we are inhabited by these things, our order is determined by them. People make their own history, “but they do not make it as they please” (Karl Marx). And the models of things point out that things form our lives, to put it more bluntly, things make us humans. The form and function of apartments and houses dictate the context in which we move and operate, in which we live and deal with each other. We function according to the function of these things. The exterior and the interior, the floor plan of the bedroom, living room, kitchen organize our lives into different worlds, into public, partially public and intimate, private spaces. Even in the private and intimate worlds, we appear to lead a standardized life, a life according to a model. The models allow a look from the outside into the interior space through a hole where a wall is missing, through an oversized window. They take the privacy of dwelling and fulfill what Vilém Flusser announced with his ideas about the nomadic human of postmodernism: “The perfect house with a roof, walls, windows, and doors exists only in fairy tales.”1 Or, elsewhere and with greater clarity, Koslitsch illustrates the already completed demolition of domestic privacy, the rear wall of the house is missing: “The perfect house has become a ruin through whose cracks gust the winds of communication.”2

The interiors of dwellings are turned inside out. Not only is the architectonic bearer of form, the outer wall, public and thereby political, even the interior wall becomes visible and allows access to the curious eye of media. The model simultaneously reveals and alienates: It takes what is foreign from the interior spaces and turns it into a projection space of fantasies and perversions.

The invasion of media communication becomes evident in the photographed model: “The home has become drafty, as gales of media sweep through from all directions […]”.3 The model is a poetic space, closely connected to the television. Ernst Koslitsch explores this phenomenon of television infiltrating private life, of soap operas and telenovelas generating their own realities and providing templates for our lives in houses and apartments.

Koslitsch guides our view into the models, into the private life that we both assume and imagine goes on behind the walls. The media construction allows a turn in the direction of perception. The tables are turned: The world is no longer observed safely from the interior of the home through a window, rather the world within is seen from the exterior, a peep show of imagined intimacies, a variety of projections of personal longings and fantasies in this inner world. The models allow a public view of human intimacy – like a reality show on television.

The photographic view stages the model once again – and in fact, on different level. The photograph documents that which is constructed. It is a fictitious representation of a fictitious reality, and as a result, turns it precisely into a non-fictitious reality. The photograph functions by allowing the perception various associative and imaginative approaches to the model, and the model is shifted even deeper into the imagination of the viewer. Koslitsch thus becomes the magician of images: the double imago (imago also contains roots for the word magic), the double media refraction of reality, first in the model, then in the photograph of the model, forcing an emotional confrontation with the social reality of space. Is it the irritation of that which is doubly “constructed” that sheds light on our projections and fantasies? Or is it the emotional effect of the newly created realities when one looks things from “around the corner”, which, according to Nietzsche, is something we “should learn from artists”?4 We see not only that which we want to see, rather the view imposes itself on us, it affects us in return. It takes possession of our thinking and our pattern of perception that is still operative, even when we do not want to see and we attempt to withdraw ourselves from that which encroaches upon us. The image and its atmosphere affect us: The more they run into obstacles, the more they are charged with emotion.

Our pattern of perception that is revealed to us with the photographs, but also with the models themselves, is individually, subjectively shaped by the experiences had in each individual living space referenced in the models and photographs. To an ever-increasing extent, this pattern of perception evolves through images, through spaces communicated in the media that are often indistinguishable in one’s own reflection. (Does looking at a building remind us of a building we once lived in, or does it remind us of looking at a photograph of exactly this building?)

In addition to the individual perception there is the collective, cultural pattern of perception, which is increasingly communicated by the media: the collective memory of a postmodern society. It is no longer the common experiences with “the stones of the city”,5 with houses and monuments that we recall together when we speak of a certain city. The fountains of Rome as well as the Plattenbauten of the Petrzalka district in Bratislava are memorized images; indistinguishable from experienced reality, they are part of our common, collective visual world. And hence the images that we remember, that we have “stored”, precede perception.

Koslitsch points this common pattern of perception out to us, he points to the images that we share and to the emotions in us that can collectively be mobilized. How much do we think along the same lines after all, when models and photos of models trigger the same emotions in us – collective emotions?

Ernst Koslitsch has created modern stage sets with his models. While the maquette – a scale model for stage sets in theater and opera – presents the stage play, Koslitsch’s models are maquettes for the drama of (post)modern life. We experience ourselves on these stages. In fact, we are ourselves going about our lives in these models: “Our Town”, Ernst Koslitsch as “Stage Manager”. Is not the gallery, where the models and photographs are exhibited, itself the stage upon which art is staged? And in fact, “more real” – because in the everyday life of our own living spaces, in the city, in houses and in apartments, to be present does not always mean that we are also there with our perception, rather our perception is consumed by the ubiquitous images of the media that are in and around us, on-site.

The city is no longer the ensemble of collectively remembered stones, as Halbwachs postulated almost one hundred years ago in his theory of collective memory, at a time when photography and film were still in their infancy. Instead, the city is today a spectacle of images.
The models of the city and its buildings refer to an experienced space, crowded in the background with photographs and films, a million fold, ubiquitous in our perception. Films from the beginning of postmodernism make the spectacle of images their central theme, like Michelangelo Antonioni’s Zabriskie Point. The house explodes without sound, items from the house, furniture, objects of everyday life are flung into the air, all to the music of Pink Floyd. These are images that allow reality to explode.

Themroc, a film directed by Claude Faraldo in the early 70s in the banlieues of Paris, thematizes a revolt due to a break with standardized way of living. The protagonist breaks out of the predetermined structure of everyday life, throws furniture out of the window and builds a wall sealing his apartment off from the balcony. He creates a cave, a new unregulated space facing outside. In this space, he leads an archaic and anarchic life, exposing the viewer to the effect of shocking images.

Ernst Koslitsch’s images, models and photographs are less shocking at first glance. Yet giving in to the emotions of the “ver-rückte”6 spaces, for example a house on a kitchen table, entails a radical rethinking of our living spaces. We are confronted with the visual constructions of our spatial reality and with the question: “How do we live in a world where images precede reality?”


Gerhard Strohmeier 2009

1 Vilém Flusser, The freedom of the migrant: objections to nationalism, Illinois, 2003, pg. 57.
2 Ibid., pg. 57.
3
Ibid., pg. 42.
4
Friedrich Nietzsche, The Gay Science, Cambridge, 2001, pp. 169-170: “To distance oneself from things until there is much in them that one no longer sees and much that the eye must add in order to see them at all, or to see things around the corner and as if they were cut out and extracted from their context, or to place them so that each partially distorts the view one has of the others and allows only perspectival glimpses, […] all this we should learn from artists.”
5 Maurice Halbwachs, On Collective Memory, Chicago, 1992.
6 A play on words, with “ver-rückt” meaning both “insane” and “displaced”.


www.ernstkoslitsch.com

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

ERNST KOSLITSCH

»UNDER CONSTRUCTION«

Eröffnung: Mittwoch 9. September 2009, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 10. September - 29.Oktober 2009


Imaginierte Räume

Die Modelle von Ernst Koslitsch öffnen den Blick in heimliche Welten, in intime Räume. Sie regen an, Wahrnehmung zu reflektieren und formen Assoziationen auf mehreren Ebenen, auf Plateaus, der Vielschichtigkeit der Raumwahrnehmung entsprechend. Zunächst ist es die Poetik der Modelle, in der Wohnhäuser, Möbel, Wohnungen, öffentlicher Umräume des Wohnens in verschiedenen Formaten hervorgebracht werden. Eine zweite poetische Ebene ist die des fotografischen Bildes, das mehr als ein Ab-bild des Modells ist und eine eigene Wirklichkeit der modellierten und imaginierten Räume hervorbringt.

Die Modelle des Wohnens zeigen die Bedingtheit des Menschen, die „conditio humanae“: Dinge, die seine Bedingtheit ausmachen. Nicht nur die Gegenstände des Wohnens, des Lebens und des Spiels, sondern das Haus und die Wohnung selbst sind Dinge. Wir hausen in solchen Dingen, sind von ihnen behaust und werden von ihnen mit einer Ordnung bedacht. Die Menschen machen die Dinge, aber „sie machen sie nicht aus freien Stücken“ (Karl Marx). Und die Modelle der Dinge weisen uns darauf hin, dass die Dinge unser Leben formen, zugespitzt: dass die Dinge uns Menschen machen. Die Form und Funktion der Wohnungen und Häuser geben den Rahmen vor, in dem wir leben und handeln, in dem wir uns bewegen und miteinander umgehen. Wir funktionieren, indem wir der Funktion der Dinge folgen. Das Außen und das Innen, die Grundrisse von Schlafzimmer, Wohnzimmer, Küche ordnen unser Leben in verschiedene Welten, in öffentliche, teilöffentliche und in intime, private. Selbst dort, im Privaten und Intimen, scheinen wir standardisierte Leben zu führen, Leben nach Modell. Die Modelle öffnen die Innenräume für den Blick von außen, indem etwa eine Wand fehlt, ein Fenster übergroß dimensioniert ist. Sie nehmen der Behausung die Heimlichkeit und vollziehen damit etwas, das Vilem Flussér in seinen Gedanken zum nomadischen Menschen der Postmoderne ankündigt: „Das heile Haus mit Dach, Mauer, Fenster, Tür gibt es nur noch in Märchenbüchern.“1 Oder, an anderer Stelle und mit noch größerer Deutlichkeit, zeigt Koslitsch die bereits vollzogene Demolierung des Heimlichen, die Rückwand des Hauses fehlt: „Das heile Haus wurde zur Ruine, durch deren Risse der Wind der Kommunikation bläst.“2

Der Innenraum des Wohnens ist nach außen gekehrt, nicht nur der architektonische Formträger, die Außenwand, ist öffentlich und damit politisch, auch die Innenwand wird einsichtig und dem neugierigen medialen Auge zugänglich. Das Modell ent-birgt und ent-fremdet gleichzeitig: Es nimmt den Innenräumen das Fremde und macht sie zum Projektionsraum von Phantasien und Perversionen. Das Eindringen der medialen Kommunikation wird im fotografierten Modell evident: „Es zieht im Haus von allen Seiten, die Orkane der Medien sausen hindurch […]“.3

Das Modell ist ein poetischer Raum, eng mit dem Fernsehen verbunden. Ernst Koslitsch greift das Phänomen auf, dass Fernsehen in privates Leben eindringt, dass Soap-Operas und Tele-Novelas eigene Wirklichkeiten hervorbringen und sie als Entwürfe für unser Leben in den Häusern und Wohnungen anbieten.

Er führt unseren Blick in die Modelle, in das private Leben, das wir sowohl hinter den Mauern vermuten als auch imaginieren. Die mediale Konstruktion erlaubt eine Drehung der Wahrnehmungsrichtung: nicht aus dem Innenraum der Wohnung durch Fenster gefahrlos in die Welt schauen, sondern den Spieß umgedreht, von Außen in die Innenwelt blicken, eine Peep-Show der imaginierten Intimitäten, eine Vielfalt von Projektionen eigener Sehnsüchte und Phantasien in diese Innenwelt. Die Modelle ermöglichen – wie die Reality-Show im Fernsehen – den Blick der Öffentlichkeit in das Intime von Menschen.

Der fotografische Blick setzt das Modell noch einmal – und zwar auf einer anderen Ebene – in Szene. Das Foto dokumentiert das Konstruierte. Es ist fiktives Abbild einer fiktiven Realität, und wird aber gerade dadurch zu einer nicht-fiktiven Wirklichkeit. Das Foto wirkt, indem es der Wahrnehmung assoziative, imaginative Zugänge zum Modell öffnet und das Modell noch tiefer in die Imagination der Betrachtenden hineinrückt. Koslitsch wird damit zum Magier der Bilder: das doppelte Imago (im Wort Imago steckt ja auch die Magie), die doppelte mediale Brechung der Realität, zuerst im Modell, dann im Foto des Modells, zwingt zur emotionalen Konfrontation mit der sozialen Wirklichkeit von Raum. Ist es die Irritation des doppelt „Konstruierten“, die Licht auf unsere Projektionen und Phantasien wirft? Oder ist es die emotionale Wirkung der geschaffenen neuen Wirklichkeiten, wenn man Dinge „um die Ecke“ betrachtet, was wir nach Nietzsche den Künstlern „ablernen“ sollen?4 Wir sehen eben nicht nur das, was wir sehen wollen, sondern der Blick drängt sich auf, wirkt auf uns zurück. Er bemächtigt sich unseres Denkens und unserer Wahrnehmungsmuster, die auch dann wirksam sind, wenn wir nicht sehen wollen und versuchen, uns dem zu entziehen, was auf uns eindringt. Das Bild und seine Atmosphäre wirken auf uns; je stärker sie an eine Mauer stoßen, desto stärker emotionalisieren sie.

Unsere Wahrnehmungsmuster, die uns die Fotos, aber auch die Modelle selbst, erschließen, sind individuell, subjektiv geprägt, durch Erfahrungen in den jeweiligen individuellen Lebensräumen, auf die Modelle und Fotos verweisen. In immer stärkerem Ausmaß entstehen diese Wahrnehmungsmuster durch Bilder, durch medial vermittelte Räume, oft ununterscheidbar in der eigenen Reflexion. (Erinnert die Betrachtung eines Gebäudes an das Gebäude, in dem wir damals wohnten, oder erinnert es an die Betrachtung eines Fotos von eben diesem Gebäude?)

Neben der individuell eigenen gibt es eben die kollektiven, kulturell und zunehmend medial vermittelten Wahrnehmungsmuster, das kollektive Gedächtnis der postmodernen Gesellschaft. Es sind nicht mehr die gemeinsamen Erfahrungen in einer Gruppe von Menschen mit den „Steinen der Stadt“,5 mit Häusern und Monumenten, die wir gemeinsam erinnern, wenn wir von einer Stadt sprechen. Die Brunnen von Rom ebenso wie die Plattenbauten des Stadtteils Petržalka in Bratislava sind gespeicherte Bilder, ununterscheidbar von erfahrener Wirklichkeit sind sie Teile unserer gemeinsamen, kollektiven Bildwelt. Und so gehen die Bilder, die wir erinnern, die wir „abgespeichert“ haben, der Wahrnehmung voran.
Koslitsch weist uns auf diese gemeinsamen Wahrnehmungsmuster hin, auf die Bilder, die wir teilen, und auf die Emotionen, die in uns kollektiv mobilisierbar sind. Wie sehr sind wir doch gleichgeschaltet, wenn Modelle und Fotos von Raum-Modellen in uns gleiche Emotionen – kollektive Emotionen – auslösen?
Ernst Koslitsch hat mit seinen Modellen moderne Bühnenbilder geschaffen. Während Maquetten – Modelle für Bühnenbilder in Theater und Oper – Bühnenstücke zur Schau stellen, sind die Modelle von Koslitsch Maquetten für die Dramen des (post)modernen Lebens. Wir selber erleben uns auf diesen Bühnen. Ja, wir sind selbst unterwegs in diesen Modellen: „Our Town“, Ernst Koslitsch als „Stage-Manager“. Ist nicht die Galerie, in der die Modelle und Fotos ausgestellt sind, selbst die Bühne, auf der Kunst inszeniert wird? Und zwar „wirklicher“ – denn im Alltag der eigenen Lebensräume, in der Stadt, in den Wohnhäusern und in den Wohnungen anwesend zu sein, heißt nicht immer, dass wir auch mit unserer Wahrnehmung dort sind, eher sind wir mit der Wahrnehmung in den allgegenwärtigen medialen Bildern, die um uns und in uns sind, als vor-Ort.

Die Stadt ist heute nicht mehr das Ensemble der kollektiv erinnerten Steine, wie Halbwachs es vor beinahe hundert Jahren, als Foto und Film noch in den Kinderschuhen steckten, in seiner Theorie des kollektiven Gedächtnisses postulierte, sondern sie ist heute ein Spektakel der Bilder.

Die Modelle der Stadt und ihrer Gebäude verweisen auf erlebte und erfahrene Räume, in den Hintergrund gedrängt durch die Fotos und Filme, millionenfach allgegenwärtig in unserer Wahrnehmung. Filme der einsetzenden Postmoderne nehmen das Bildspektakel der Räume zum zentralen Thema, etwa Zabriskie Point von Michelangelo Antonioni. Das Haus explodiert tonlos, Dinge des Hauses, Möbel, Gegenstände des Alltagslebens werden in die Luft geschleudert, dazu Musik von Pink Floyd. Es sind Bilder, die die Wirklichkeit explodieren lassen.

Themroc, ein Film von Claude Faraldo, gedreht anfangs der 70er Jahre in den Banlieus von Paris, thematisiert die Revolte anhand des Bruchs mit standardisierten Lebensentwürfen. Die Hauptfigur bricht aus dem vorstrukturierten Alltag aus, wirft die Möbel aus dem Fenster und mauert den Balkon zur Wohnung hin ab. Er schafft eine Höhle, einen neuen ungeregelten, nach außen gerichteten Raum, in der er ein archaisches und anarchisches Leben verwirklicht, die Betrachter der Wirkung schockierender Bilder aussetzend.

Ernst Koslitschs Bilder, Modelle und Fotos, sind nur auf den ersten Blick weniger schockierend. Sich auf die Emotionen der „ver-rückten“ Räume einlassend, etwa auf das Haus am Küchentisch, zieht eine radikale Infragestellung unserer Lebensräume nach sich. Wir sind konfrontiert mit den bildhaften Konstruktionen unserer räumlichen Realität und mit der Frage: „Wie wollen wir leben in einer Welt, in der sich die Bilder vor die Realität stellen?“


Gerhard Strohmeier 2009


1
Vilém Flussér, "Häuser bauen", in: ders., Von der Freiheit des Migranten, Berlin-Wien, 2007, S. 67.
2 Ebenda, S. 60.
3 Ebenda.
4 Friedrich Nietzsche, Die fröhliche Wissenschaft, Leipzig 1990, S. 183: „Sich von den Dingen entfernen, bis man vieles von ihnen nicht mehr sieht und vieles hinzusehen muss, um sie noch zu sehen – oder die Dinge um die Ecke und wie in einem Ausschnitte sehen – oder sie so stellen, dass sie sich teilweise verstellen und nur perspektivische Durchblicke gestatten, […] das alles sollen wir den Künstlern ablernen.“
5 Maurice Halbwachs, Das kollektive Gedächtnis, Frankfurt a.M., 1985



www.ernstkoslitsch.com