Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

IRIS ANDRASCHEK

ORDINAIRE BLAU

Opening: 25 October 2016, 7 – 9pm
Duration: 27 October – 3 December 2016

IRIS ANDRASCHEK is showing a series of drawings at Galerie Raum mit Licht for the European Month of Photography that circle around the possibility of accurately representing reality — or the impossibility of doing so. Fine-lined renditions of striking faces and heads are meticulously and realistically, as it were, drawn on semi-opaque foil. The artist has emphasised the subjects' distinctive features with lettering or patterns, so concealing the original faces. On a second drawing of each on another sheet, she lays the heads around a dense, delicately worked mesh of ornaments and arabesques, in the stylised foliage of which sentences from conversations with those portrayed are interwoven. This process of covering/revealing is repeated in a number of photographs. The photographs also have embroidered raw silk cloths tacked onto them, as do some of the drawings on display.
The portrait drawings and the photos show people who have fled to Turkey from Aleppo, as well as their current surroundings. Iris Andraschek has developed her exhibition project on the basis of their history.


ORDINARY BLUE

Soap from Aleppo, of strangely archaic beauty — simple grey-green blocks, visibly shaped by the hand-manufacturing process, each embossed with an interlaced stamp, stand in the gallery stacked in a small pyramid. Iris Andraschek had travelled on an impulse from Istanbul to the Syrian-Turkish border in the spring of 2016 to meet the bearer's of a 1000-year tradition of soap manufacture who had fled from Aleppo, and to follow the production process.
In Raum II of the gallery, documentary video footage shows the glowing, green colour of the still fresh raw materials and the delicate manufacturing process. The soap made of olive oil, laurel oil and soda represents an invaluable cultural asset, and the resumption of the manufacturing process while tentatively in safety means shaking off a little of the torpidity from the devastation of the war.
Iris Andraschek frequently takes the concrete reality of a situation as the basis for her work. Here, this is an endlessly complicated political situation, war, a great deal of personal suffering and very provisional manufacturing conditions.
The small fragments of mosaic allude to the annihilation of cultural identity. They represent valuable mosaics looted from Hama and now irretrievable as stolen goods: for the satisfaction of unbridled consumer greed.
In fact, fleeing and persecution often contribute to the transfer of cultural memes and artistic forms of expression, inevitably changing elements of them. This also applies all the more for the appropriation of "exotic beauty"; the fascination of the Orient has always been loaded with misapprehensions. This is exemplified by the transformation of a Ming Dynasty Chinese pomegranate and peach motif from the famous tiles of Iznik introduced to the Ottoman Empire into a well-known pattern on Meissen porcelain. It is now the Blue Onion Pattern (known in German as "ordinary blue") that Iris Andraschek chose out of her interest in the art of ornamentation, and for the title of the exhibition.
The arabesque, stylised foliage, has been developed to the level of virtuosity since antiquity in the cultures of the Near East, with mathematical precision and in endless variations. As foliage they are always sprou-ting new shoots, as a graphic pattern or abstracted Garden of Eden it has neither a beginning nor an end and never merely "bewegtes Beiwerk" (an active appendage). As depictions of sentient beings is proscribed under Islam, the ornamentation of Oriental cultures is imposing for its depth and in the development of an indirect art of depiction. This embraces all fields of artistic expression, from calligraphy and poetry to the art of building, presenting the name of Allah for contemplation in every tile. Since Philipp Otto Runge, ornamentation in European art also emphasises the gaps, the not-shown in the image.
Iris Andraschek now uses this quality of indirect depiction to portrait the people she encountered on her travels. She was able to be present during the alchemical process of manufacturing soap, and she was able to talk with the workers who had fled the destruction of their homeland with their families. The artist has captured the faces of those she spoke to in delicate drawings on semi-opaque plastic foil. They look marked by their experiences, in addition patterns and lettering are superimposed on their features like camouflage. The artist then adds a further layer of milky paper over these drawings, marked with a profusion of orna-ments and tendrils. The all-over ornamentation binds the isolated heads in one pictorial surface, emphasises their non-illusionistic depth and simultaneously fragments the depiction. Furthermore, some sheets have embroidered scraps of raw silk tacked onto them. (The artist builds here on her process with photography where her distortion filters, for example, serve to emphasise the unity of the pictorial surface by challenging such unity and visually circumventing it.)
Iris Andraschek inserts sentences and snatches of conversation from the interviews into the ornamentation of the arabesque, for us legible in English but concealed as further shoots in the foliage. Incorporating the function of the calligraphy, an attempt is being made here to lend graphic form to the undepictable. Violence begets speechlessness, lending shape to the overawing terror means taking a step out of the torpor.

The soap from Aleppo is named after the oil of the laurel, Daphne, which is also the name of the mythologi-cal Greek female nymph who only managed to escape Apollo, the god of a new era, by transforming herself. This is described in Ovid:

"O father, help! if your waters hold divinity; change and destroy this beauty by which I pleased o'er well." Scarce had she thus prayed when a down-dragging numbness seized her limbs, and her soft sides were begirt with thin bark. Her hair was changed to leaves, her arms to branches. Her feet, but now so swift, grew fast in sluggish roots, and her head was now but a tree's top. Her gleaming beauty alone remained.

Metamorphoses, Book 1

Text: Daniela Hölzl

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

IRIS ANDRASCHEK

ORDINAIRE BLAU

Vernissage: 25.Oktober 2016, 19–21 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 27.Oktober–03.Dezember 2016

IRIS ANDRASCHEK zeigt in der Galerie „Raum mit Licht“ zum „Monat der Fotografie“ eine Reihe von Zeichnungen, die um die Möglichkeit der genauen Wiedergabe einer Realität kreisen - oder um deren Un-Möglichkeit. Mit feinem Strich, minutiös und gleichsam realistisch, sind auf halbtransparenten Folien einprägsame Gesichter und Köpfe wiedergegeben. Die Künstlerin hat deren markanten Züge durch Schriftzeichen oder Muster betont und damit die individuellen Gesichter verborgen. Jeweils in einer zweiten Zeichnung, auf einem weiteren Blatt legt sie um die Köpfe herum ein dichtes, filigran ausgearbeitetes Netz an Ornamenten und Arabesken, in deren stilisiertes Blattwerk Sätze aus Gesprächen mit den Porträtierten geflochten sind. In einigen Fotografien wiederholt sich das Verfahren der schichtweisen Bedeckung/Enthüllung. An die Fotoarbeiten sind, wie auch an manche der gezeichneten Blätter, zudem bestickte Tücher aus grober Seide geheftet.
Die Portraitzeichnungen und die Fotografien zeigen Menschen, die aus Aleppo in die Türkei geflüchtet sind , sowie ihre aktuelle Umgebung. Iris Andraschek hat ihr Ausstellung-Projekt auf der Grundlage ihrer Geschichte entwickelt.


ORDINAIRE BLAU 

Seife aus Aleppo, von seltsam archaischer Schönheit - schlichte grau-grüne Blöcke, deren Form die händische Herstellungsart sehen lässt, jeder einzelne mit einem verschlungenen Stempel versehen, stehen zu einer kleinen Pyramide gestapelt  in der Galerie. Iris Andraschek hat, einem Impuls folgend, im Frühjahr 2016 eine Reise von Istanbul an die syrisch-türkische Grenze unternommen um die aus Aleppo geflüchteten Bewahrer einer 1000 jährigen Tradition der Seifenherstellung kennenzulernen und den Prozess der Produktion mit zu verfolgen.
Im Raum II der Galerie  wird in dokumentarischen Videoaufnahmen die geheimnisvoll leuchtende, grüne Farbe des noch frischen Materials und der heikle Herstellungsprozess offenbar. Die Seife aus Olivenöl, Lorbeeröl und Soda stellt ein kostbares Kulturgut dar, die Wiederaufnahme ihrer Herstellung in prekärer Sicherheit bedeutet ein wenig, die Erstarrung aus den Verwüstungen des Kriegs abzuschütteln.
Iris Andraschek nimmt gerne das Konkrete einer Situation zum Ausgangspunkt ihrer Arbeit. Hier sind dies eine unendlich verworrene politische Lage, Krieg, viel persönliches Leid und sehr provisorische Produktionsbedingungen. Auf die Vernichtung kultureller Identität verweisen die wenigen Bruchstücke von Mosaiken. Sie repräsentieren kostbare Mosaiken aus Hama, die geplündert/“looted“, nun unwiederbringlich als Hehler-Ware  ungezügelte Konsumgier befriedigen.
Tatsächlich tragen Flucht und Vertreibung häufig zum Transfer kultureller „Meme“ und künstlerischer Ausdrucksformen bei, deren Elemente verändern sich dabei jedoch unweigerlich. Dies gilt umso mehr für die Aneignung „fremder Schönheit“; die Faszination Orient war immer schon von Missverständnissen geprägt. Exemplarisch hierfür steht die Verwandlung eines chinesischen Motives aus Granatäpfeln und Pfirsichen aus der  Zeit der Ming-Dynastie, welches über die berühmten Kacheln aus Iznik im Osmanischen Reich Eingang fand in ein bekanntes Dekor von Meissner Porzellan. Es war nun ein „Zwiebel“ Muster, das titelgebende „Ordinaire Blau“, das Iris Andraschek aus Interesse an der Kunst der Ornamente für die Ausstellung gewählt hat.

Die Arabeske, eine stilisierte Blattranke, wurde seit der Antike in den Kulturen des vorderen Orients in mathematischer Präzision zur Virtuosität unendlicher Vielfalt entwickelt. Als Blattwerk bringt sie immer wieder neue Triebe hervor, als grafisches Muster oder abstrahierter Paradiesgarten ist sie ohne Anfang und Ende und keineswegs nur „bewegtes Beiwerk“. Aufgrund des islamischen Verbotes beseeltes Leben abzubilden, durchdringt das Ornament die orientalischen Kulturen in ihrer Tiefe und entwickelt eine indirekte Kunst des Zeigens. Diese umfasst alle Bereiche des künstlerischen Ausdrucks, von der Kalligrafie und Poesie bis zur Baukunst, die in jeder Kachel den Namen Allahs der Kontemplation darbietet. In der europäischen Kunst seit P. O. Runge hebt das Ornament auch den  Zwischenraum, das Nicht-Im-Bild-Gezeigte hervor.
Iris Andraschek nutzt nun  diese Qualität des indirekten Zeigens um die Menschen, die ihr auf ihrer Reise begegneten, zu portraitieren. Sie konnte dem alchemistischen Prozess der Seifenherstellung beiwohnen und sie konnte mit den Arbeitern sprechen, die mit ihren Familien vor der Zerstörung ihrer Heimat geflohen sind. Die Gesichter ihrer Gesprächspartner hält die Künstlerin in feinen Zeichnungen auf halb-transparenten Kunststoff-Folien fest. Sie scheinen von ihren Erfahrungen gezeichnet, zusätzlich liegen Muster und Schriftzeichen wie Carmouflage über ihren Zügen. Über diese Zeichnungen legt die Künstlerin dann eine weitere Schicht des milchigen Papiers, bezeichnet mit ausufernden Ornamenten und Ranken.  Das All-Over der Ornamentik bindet die isolierten Köpfen in eine Bildfläche, betont deren nicht-illusionistische Tiefe und zugleich das Fragmentierte der Darstellung. Manchen Blättern wird darüber hinaus ein besticktes Tuch aus grober Seide angeheftet. ( Die Künstlerin knüpft hier an ihr Verfahren in der Fotografie an , wo ihr z.B. verfremdende Filter dienen, die Einheit der Bildfläche zu betonen, indem sie diese in Frage stellen und optisch hintergehen.)
In die Ornamentik der Arabesken fügt Iris Andraschek Sätze und Gesprächsfetzten aus den Interviews, für uns lesbar in Englisch und doch wie eine weitere Ranke im Blattwerk versteckt. Die Funktion der Kalligrafie aufnehmend wird hier versucht, dem Nicht-Darstellbaren eine bildhafte Form zu geben. Gewalt erzeugt Sprachlosigkeit, dem über-großen Schrecken eine Form zu geben, bedeutet einen Schritt aus der Erstarrung zu tun.

Die Seife von Aleppo verdankt ihren Namen dem Lorbeeröl: „Daphne“, so hieß auch die Bergnymphe, die sich der Verfolgung durch Apollon, dem Gott einer neuen Zeit,  nur durch Verwandlung entziehen konnte. Bei Ovid heißt es :

„Hilf, Vater“, sagt sie, „wenn ihr Flüsse göttliche Macht habt!
Durch Verwandlung verdirb die Gestalt, mit der ich zu sehr gefiel!“
Kaum war die Bitte beendet, befällt schwere Taubheit die Glieder:
Die weichen Brüste werden von zarter Rinde umschlossen,
die Haare werden zu Laub, die Arme wachsen als Äste;
schon wird der flinke Fuß von trägen Wurzeln gehalten,
ein Wipfel verbirgt das Gesicht: Der Glanz allein bleibt.

Ovid, Metamorphosen 1, 545.553

Text: Daniela Hölzl