Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

JONAS FEFERLE

»A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.«

Opening: Wednesday 13 January 2016, 7pm
Exibition: 13 January - 12 March 2016

A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.

Space, material and form exist as part of the artwork before the actual work is added, writes Jonas Feferle in the foyer to A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM. There is a behind and an in front in the here and now of the moment. The subject before articulation, the subject that doesn't speak, is unattainable for the subject of the assertion. Unless it dies. As if it takes a surface, topsoil, to put someone underground. Sending them west, we say. A corner is the spatial consequence of precise incisions in a material the shape of which forms a surface. One cut represents the edge for another. Numerous brushed and burnished incisions convey the impression of texture, establishing a regime that does not really exist. An outside within the frame. We say: the unconscious mind.

The unconscious is part of the psychological apparatus. Spatiality may be the projection of the psychic apparatus, noted Sigmund Freud in August 1938, in London. There is an image. And there I am. We say self when we mean the linear succession of thoughts. We say not-self when the law of simultaneity gains the upper hand. This makes no difference to the subject. It recurs as it knows no outside without itself. Space, material and form are there before the artwork. As you are. For the moment. An instant is possible where the eye encounters a material whose shape may suggest an answer. Space is part of this answer. We say: Phantasm. Honi soit qui mal y pense.

Jonas Feferle works in the series RAUMTEILE with incisions in sheets of aluminium, the position and shape of which are not independent of the space in which they hang. Aluminium is a soft, a pliable material. Which is to say, exacting: unforgiving. Like the reproduction of bodies and words. Variety knows simultaneity and sequence. Several cuts form volumes, bodies, whose repetition in the space loosely structures it. The space consists in the simultaneity of these cuts in relation to one another and in relation to something that is missing, because it has been removed. "Psyche is extended; knows nothing about it", wrote Freud. In exile.

Text: Roman Widholm
Translation: Jonathan Quinn

JONAS FEFERLE
(*1983 in Oberpullendorf, AT) studied Philosophy at the University of Vienna and Photography at the department of Fine Arts and Media Art at the University of Applied Arts Vienna (graduated in 2013). He has taken part in several exhibitions in Austria, the Netherlands, Germany and Turkey since 2008. In 2014 he received the START-Stipendium of the state of Austria.
Jonas Feferle’s work is an investigation of general questions of art itself, manifested in the triad of space, material and form. During the last years, Feferle deals with these questions, amongst others, in site-specific space installations, in which he always follows the clear intention to bring both the hidden and that which exists into a visible relationship one to the other through an interplay of material, form and space. Among these, material is the constant that reacts in form to specific spatial characteristics in order to eo ipso establish a new relationship to space.
Jonas Feferle lives and works in Vienna.

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

JONAS FEFERLE

»A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.«

Vernissage: 13.01.2016, 19:00 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 13.01. – 12.03.2016

A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.

Raum, Material und Form existieren als Teil des Kunstwerks bevor die eigentliche Arbeit hinzugefügt wird, schreibt Jonas Feferle im Foyer zu A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM. Es gibt ein Dahinter und ein Davor im Hier und Jetzt des Augenblicks. Das Subjekt vor dem Sprechen, das Subjekt das nicht spricht, ist unerreichbar für das Subjekt der Aussage. Außer es stirbt. Als ob es eine Oberfläche braucht, um etwas unter die Erde zu bringen. Wir sagen: um die Ecke bringen. Eine Ecke ist die räumliche Folge präziser Schnitte an einem Material, das durch seine Form eine Oberfläche bildet. Ein Schnitt repräsentiert die Kante für einen anderen Schnitt. Eine Vielzahl an gebürsteten und gewischten Einschnitten vermittelt den Eindruck von Textur, wodurch eine Ordnung entsteht, die es in Wirklichkeit nicht gibt. Ein Außerhalb innerhalb des Rahmens. Wir sagen: das Unbewusste.

Das Unbewusste ist Teil des psychischen Apparats. Räumlichkeit mag die Projektion der Ausdehnung des psychischen Apparats sein, notiert Sigmund Freud im August 1938 in London. Da ist ein Bild. Und da bin Ich. Wir sagen Ich wenn wir die lineare Aufeinanderfolge von Gedanken meinen. Wir sagen Nicht-Ich, wenn die Gleichzeitigkeit überhand nimmt. Für das Subjekt macht das keinen Unterschied. Es kommt wieder, denn es kennt kein Außen außer sich. Für das Kunstwerk macht das einen Unterschied. Es gibt Raum, Material und Form vor dem Kunstwerk. Das sind Sie. Für den Moment. Ein Augenblick ist möglich da, wo das Auge auf ein Material trifft, dessen Form eine Antwort hervorzurufen vermag. Raum ist Teil dieser Antwort. Wir sagen: Phantasma. Ein Schirm, der Böses dabei denkt.

Jonas Feferle arbeitet in der Serie RAUMTEILE mit Einschnitten auf Aluminiumplatten, deren Form und Position nicht unabhängig sind von dem Raum, in dem sie hängen. Aluminium ist ein sanftes, ein nachgiebiges Material. Will sagen vergebungslos und nichtkorrigierbar. Wie die Vervielfältigung von Körpern und Worten. Die Vielzahl kennt Gleichzeitigkeit und Aufeinanderfolge. Mehrere Schnitte bilden Körper, deren Wiederholung den Raum um sich greifen lässt. Der Raum besteht in der Gleichzeitigkeit dieser Schnitte im Verhältnis zueinander und im Verhältnis zu etwas das fehlt, weil es weggemacht wurde. Psyche ist ausgedehnt, weiß nichts davon, schreibt Freud. Im Exil.

Text: Roman Widholm

JONAS FEFERLE
(*1983 in Oberpullendorf, AT) studierte Philosophie an der Universität Wien und Fotografie am Institut für Bildende und Mediale Kunst an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien (Diplom 2013). Seit 2008 nahm er an Ausstellungen in Österreich, den Niederlanden, Deutschland und der Türkei teil. 2014 erhielt er das START-Stipendium des BKA Kunst und Kultur, Österreich.
Jonas Feferles Arbeit stellt eine Untersuchung grundsätzlicher Fragen der Kunst an sich dar, welche sich in der Trias von Raum, Material und Form manifestiert. Im Laufe der letzten Jahre wurden diese Fragen von Feferle unter anderem in raumbezogenen Installationen verhandelt, die stets der klaren Intention folgen, Verborgenes im Vorhandenen durch das Zusammenspiel von Raum, Material und Form sichtbar in ein Verhältnis zueinander zu bringen. Unter diesen stellt das Material jene Konstante dar, welche formal auf räumliche Spezifika reagiert, um eo ipso ein neues Verhältnis zu Raum herzustellen. Jonas Feferle lebt und arbeitet in Wien.