Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

rini tandon

»FACING THE TANGIBLE«

Opening: Wednesday, 05 April 2017, 7–9 pm
Exhibition: 06 April - 12 May 2017

zu Gast bei Georg Kargl PERMANENT – »UNFRAMED«
Schleifmühlgasse 17, 1040 Wien

Opening: Samstag, 06.05.2017, 11 – 16 Uhr
Ausstellung: 12.05. – 27.06.2017
Öffnungszeiten:
FR 12 – 18h I SA 11 – 16h


Interieur by Peta & Waldi
Image © Rini Tandon »Facing the Tangible« (2007), video still
Rini Tandon's artistic oeuvre addresses aesthetic and philosophical issues employing an impressive array of media: objects, sculptures, three-dimensional images, photographs and videos, in-situ installations, and interventions in the gallery space. The very different works in terms of form and materials nevertheless share a lucid intention: as artworks, they explore the charged realms between perception and cognition, between presence and absence, between negation and addition, between illusion and reality, between material and medium, and between narrative and form.

Tandon's authentic artistic research engages with the, at first glance difficult, endeavour to transform abstract models of thought into a direct physical experience. Her works convey the cognitive moment of "knowing" in a complex sensual form, rendering this moment tangible and perceptible without either illustrating or describing it.

The objects, paintings, videos and installations in the exhibition with the programmatic title Facing the Tangible provide information on the meticulous aesthetic research process, which the artist undertakes for her exploration of sensual perception (e.g. Same Time Triple, 2003-2014) and reflection (e.g. Reflection Board, 2013). She engages with topics from the realm of the natural sciences, physics, such as the space-time dimension (e.g. Imperceptible States) or physical states (e.g. Fluid Attributes, 1999), where the observer's standpoint and central perspective are permanently challenged, where thought models are transformed into two-, three- or four-dimensional objects and tablets (e.g. Reflection Board, 2013).

People, their vision, physicality and perception, manifest themselves in Rini Tandon's work as significant absences (e.g. In my absence they entered my home, 2012-2015). She integrates this absence as the blindspot in the perception without which, however, what is there cannot be "understood". So the artist's own feet (Anthology of a Walk, 2012-2016) and hands (Catching the Sun, 2012-2016) appear, almost always ghost-like, in x-ray photographs, colour negatives (Home Laboratory, 2000) and as projections on a given backdrop (Rendering, 2012-2016). Or the artist photographs the hands of a child as the shaping elements, which will leave their imprint behind on materials and media in the future (e.g. In the Nature of Things, 2012-2015).

So the traces, the bodies — human and not human — left in the world are an essential element in Tandon's works. She freezes these traces, which allude to things past, things not-present, as fragile objects (Processing the Line, 2009) or lacquer drawings. (Transformers/Transducers, 2007-2010) for viewers in an imaginary future.

(Katharina Gsöllpointner, January 2017)

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

rini tandon

»FACING THE TANGIBLE«

Vernissage: Mittwoch, 05. April 2017, 19–21 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 06. April - 12. Mai 2017

Image © Rini Tandon »Facing the Tangible« (2007), video still
Rini Tandons künstlerisches Oeuvre umfasst eine beeindruckende Vielfalt an Medien, in denen sie ihre ästhetischen und philosophischen Fragestellungen realisiert: Objekte, Skulpturen, dreidimensionale Bilder, Fotografien und Videos, in-situ-Installationen und in den Galerieraum eingreifende Interventionen. Die formal und materiell so unterschiedlichen Arbeiten vereint jedoch eine ganz klare Absicht: Sie erforschen als Kunstwerke die Spannungsfelder zwischen Wahrnehmung und Kognition, zwischen An- und Abwesenheit, zwischen Negation und Addition, zwischen Illusion und Realität, zwischen Material und Medium, und zwischen Erzählung und Form.

Tandons genuin künstlerisch-forschendes Werk befasst sich mit dem auf den ersten Blick schwierigen Unterfangen, abstrakte Denkmodelle in direkte, körperliche Erfahrung umzuwandeln. Ihre Arbeiten bringen das kognitive Moment von „Wissen“ in eine komplexe sinnliche Form, machen es somit begreifbar und wahrnehmbar, ohne es jedoch zu illustrieren oder zu beschreiben.

Die Objekte, Bilder, Videos und Installationen in der Ausstellung mit dem programmatischen Titel „Facing the Tangible“ geben Auskunft über die akribischen ästhetischen Forschungsprozesse, mit denen die Künstlerin die sinnliche Wahrnehmung (z.B. Same Time Triple, 2003-2014) und das Nachdenken (z.B. Reflection Board, 2013) untersucht. Da werden naturwissenschaftliche Themen aus der Physik wie raum-zeitliche Dimensionen (z.B. Imperceptible States, 2008) oder stoffliche Aggregatzustände (z.B. Fluid Attributes, 1999) verhandelt, da wird der zentralperspektivische Beobachterstandpunkt der Betrachter_in ständig in Frage gestellt, da werden Gedankenmodelle in zwei-, drei- oder vierdimensionale Objekte und Tablets (z.B. Reflection Board, 2013) verwandelt.

Den Menschen, seine Vorstellungen, seine Körperlichkeit, sein Wahrnehmen inszeniert Rini Tandon in ihren Werken als das große Abwesende (z.B. In my absence they entered my home, 2012-2015) und integriert ihn als den blinden Fleck der Wahrnehmung, ohne den aber das Vorhandene nicht „verstanden“ werden kann. Die Füße (Anthology of a Walk, 2012-2016) und Hände (Catching the Sun, 2012-2016) der Künstlerin selbst erscheinen daher auch immer wieder fast geisterhaft in Röntgenaufnahmen, Farbnegativen (Home Laboratory, 2000) und als Projektionen auf Kulissen (Rendering, 2012-2016). Oder die Künstlerin fotografiert die Hände eines Kindes als die gestaltenden Elemente, die in der Zukunft ihre Abdrücke in Materialien und Medien hinterlassen werden (z.B. In the Nature of Things, 2012-2015).

So sind die Spuren, die — menschliche und nicht-menschliche — Körper in der Welt hinterlassen, ein ganz wesentlicher Bestandteil in Tandons Arbeiten. Diese Spuren — die auf Vergangenes, Nicht-Vorhandenes verweisen — friert sie als fragile Objekte (Processing the Line, 2009) oder Bilder (Transformers/Transducers, 2007-2010) für Betrachter_innen in einer imaginären Zukunft ein.

(Katharina Gsöllpointner, Jänner 2017)