Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS

The gallery is closed from 20. December 2015 to 12. January 2016

The GALERIE RAUM MIT LICHT wishes you Happy Holidays!

Thank you for your interest and the trust you have shown us in the last year.
We look forward to seeing you again at the opening of the first exhibition in the New Year.
© Georgia Creimer
»Mond im Hof« Pigmentprint on Paper, Serie: Prints 4 each 16 x 21, Edition 20 + 2AP



COMING UP !!
JONAS FEFERLE »A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.«

Opening: 13. 01. 2016, 7pm
Exhibition: 14. 01 – 27. 02. 2016

»A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.« is the second exhibition at Galerie Raum mit Licht by Jonas Feferle where the space itself becomes Feferle's partner in a dialogue and a stage, so to speak, for a play about a before, an after and a now.
The protagonists in this play (Space, Material and Form) already existed prior to this as features of his work, the artist informs us as we enter the exhibition, but only through their appropriation do they and their involvement shift into the field of vision.
Feferle appropriates the three by reworking the raw material, for instance, in the series RAUMTEILE: the soft, unforgiving surface of aluminium is cut, brushed and polished until the image appears in the space and the space in the image. These spaces do not cast the viewer back onto the surface but absorb them: allowing them to become part of it as reflections, enabling the perception of the space to be experienced as a participatory act.
However the material itself also becomes a space when Feferle intervenes in the architecture of the setting with his site-specific installation SPIECE 6, concealing features with the insertion of sheets of aluminium and emphasising concealed ones.
Where does the space begin? Where does it end?
Feferle does not provide any answers. He poses questions which we, as part of the space in the space, can pursue.


Text: Doris Pokitsch
Translation: Jonathan Quinn

Galerie Raum mit Licht

 

WEIHNACHTSPAUSE

vom 20. Dezember 2015 bis 12. Jänner 2016

Die GALERIE RAUM MIT LICHT wünscht Ihnen frohe Feiertage!
Vielen Dank für das Interesse und das Vertrauen, das Sie unserer
Galerie im vergangenen Jahr entgegengebracht haben.
Wir freuen uns Sie bei der Eröffnung unserer ersten Ausstellung
im neuen Jahr wiederzusehen.
© Georgia Creimer
»Mond im Hof« Pigmentdruck auf Papier, Serie: Prints 4 à 16 x 21, Edition 20 + 2AP



COMING UP !!

JONAS FEFERLE »A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.«

Eröffnung: 13. 01. 2016, 19:00 Uhr
Ausstellung: 14. 01 – 27. 02. 2016

»A PIECE OF SPACE, MATERIAL AND FORM.« ist die zweite Ausstellung von Jonas Feferle in der Galerie Raum mit Licht, in der der Raum selbst zum Dialogpartner Feferles und gleichsam zur Bühne für ein Stück über ein Davor, ein Danach und ein Jetzt wird.
Die Protagonisten in diesem Stück (Raum, Material und Form) existieren als Teil des Kunstwerks schon davor, lässt uns der Künstler gleich im Eingangsbereich der Ausstellung wissen, doch erst durch ihre Aneignung rücken sie und ihre Verstrickungen in das Blickfeld.
Feferle eignet sich diese drei an, indem er etwa dem Material in der Serie RAUMTEILE zusetzt: Die weiche und unverzeihliche Oberfläche von Aluminium wird geschnitten, gebürstet und poliert bis das Bild im Raum und der Raum im Bild entsteht. Diese Räume werfen die Betrachter_innen nicht an der Oberfläche zurück, sondern nehmen sie in sich auf: Lassen sie durch Spiegelungen Teil werden und ermöglichen Raumwahrnehmung als partizipatorischen Akt.
Das Material wird jedoch auch selbst zu Raum, wenn Feferle mit der ortsbezogenen Installation SPIECE 6 in die Architektur der Galerie eingreift und durch ein Hinzufügen von Aluminiumplatten Vorhandenes verbirgt und Verborgenes hervorbringt.
Wo beginnt der Raum? Wo endet er?
Feferle gibt keine Antworten. Er stellt Fragen, denen wir als Teil des Raums im Raum nachgehen können.

Text: Doris Pokitsch